Books for Children and those that care for them.

The Book Garden

Welcome to The Book Garden: Books for children and the people who care for them.

Flamingo Boy

Availability: In Stock or On Order

$20.00
OR

Flamingo Boy

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Details

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION This is a landmark new novel form the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

Additional Information

Author Morpurgo, Michael
ISBN 9780008134648
Format Paperback

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.